Crafting Tips and Ideas, DIY Crafting

Organizing Your Craft Supplies

I am not sure about you but no matter how good my intentions are at organizing craft supplies, keeping them neat and orderly is a bit daunting.  It almost feels impossible at times.  However, I do have some tips that will help …Let’s start with….

Setting Up Your Space

Right now I am fortunate enough to have a spare bedroom that I have turned into my craft room which is full of shelves and cupboards, desk and work table.  However, not everyone has that extra space, it just so happens my kids are grown otherwise, I wouldn’t have it either!  If you don’t have an entire room to devote to your craft area, start out in the corner of a room.  The dining area usually is a great option for folks (and I still use mine), choose whatever room you have some extra space in.  I’ve even converted a walk in closet into a craft room before.

img_1226

Devote an entire corner of the room just to your crafts.  If you can put up some shelving or even cupboards it will make life SO much easier.  Check out Pinterest for amazing DIY shelf options…seriously I bet you will find something that suits your space needs.  Check out second hand stores and restore!  Old dressers and small chest of drawers work great and I always recommend a combination of open cubby holes that stack neatly together to make a large wall unit.  I like to use these from Wal-Mart...

5519ab50-7017-4447-b56e-c6da0c31ac7c_1-e764df142a51127197ad7d948b56f71b

They are stackable AND you can mount them to the wall, they have clear see through drawers so you can see what is in them and easy to label.  Plus, they are quite roomy inside and budget friendly!  Under $20 for the 9 drawer unit.

Thrifty storage ideas...

diy-mason-jar-storage-organizer_tx

  • Use mason jars…I use them for just about everything from holding pens, pencils, paint brushes…mason jars are amazing for craft storage…I can rattle on about them for ever
  • Shoe boxes or any cardboard boxes work well
  • Coffee cans & ice cream pails

Let your imagination run wild.  I mean, you have craft supplies right?  You could do this

b27526213212dcebd3ef667ccbe34601

I saw this on Pinterest…I have a lot of fabric scraps and now I use them to make coffee cans, soup cans etc…pretty! Personalize your crafting area using decoupage, painting techniques or with products such as vinyl decor, stickers or rub-ons.  I am about to put this expression on my craft room wall from Uppercase Living…I’ll show it to you when I get the expression up.

crafty

You will get a lot more crafting done if you can leave unfinished projects out on your work table and ready when ever there are a few spare moments.  A card table is handy it is small enough to be out of the way yet roomy enough for two people to work together.  Another plus, it can be folded up and put away when needed.

Gathering and Sorting Supplies

As you gather supplies, sort them in a way that makes sense to you.  What works best for me might not work for you.  The key is to sort things in an order you can flow easily with.  I am simple…I keep like things together, paint with paint, fabric with fabric etc…anymore complicated than that would make me crazier than I already am 🙂

Oh, and do try to clean up and put things away as soon as you are done with them or your space will clutter up fast, you’ll run out of room and get frustrated…please, don’t ask me how I know this UGH I am the QUEEN of procrastination in the clean up department so please don’t follow in my footsteps there … eeeeeeeeeek right?  It happens to the best of us!

4561529071_fb1a1d2fdf.jpg

What craft storage and/or organization methods do you use?  I’d love to hear your ideas, tips or see your craft room!

Until next time,

jamie-blog-signature

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

